生命科学和工业应用高级彩色显微镜解决方案

介绍

人们常说,世界一天比一天小。对于视觉系统的设计人员来说,这句话有着特殊的含义,因为今天越来越多的视觉系统必须关注显微细节。过去或许需要由一个人用光学显微镜手工完成的任务,现在通过结合使用显微镜、数码相机和精密的图像捕获和分析软件,可以比以往任何时候都进行得更快、更精确、更具有可重复性。

这些基于显微镜的机器视觉系统如今已广泛应用于生命科学领域,以及从半导体测、材料科学到故障分析和质量保证等工业应用领域。

对于很多此类数码显微镜系统来说,颜色信息的捕获和分析对于应用目标的实现至关重要。因此,在系统里充当“眼睛”的相机,必须能够提供准确的空间和颜色信息,使系统的软件“大脑”发挥其功能。

阅读更多有关数字显微镜解决方案的信息,并了解如何利用各种相机功能来满足您的应用要求。

Whitepaper Prism Technology 250X285
Chapter 1 彩色显微镜系统的类型

彩色显微镜系统的类型

现代彩色显微镜系统可分为若干类。最常见的为以下几类:

  • 使用彩色染料或色素并借助传统明视场技术为样品照明并捕获彩色图像的系统
    对于有些工业系统来说,为了同时分析可见和不可见的细节特征,照明中可能还包括暗视场技术以及近红外光波长。

    Topic Cluster Microscope Illustrations 1 1
    明视场显微镜技术
  • 使用彩色荧光的彩色显微镜系统
    彩色荧光技术可以用于有机和无机化合物,但在生命科学领域中,最常见的是用于在生物样品中添加一种或多种荧光染色(荧光团),使所关注的结构或对象在被激发光源击中时发射特定的光波长(彩色)的应用。

    1 Topic Cluster Microscope Illustrations 1 1
    荧光显微镜技术
Chapter 2 彩色显微镜的挑战

彩色显微镜的挑战

彩色显微镜系统的设计人员面临的各类挑战取决于目标应用。一些必须考虑的最重要的问题是:

  • 色彩精确度和差异
    在许多应用中,特别是涉及着色或染色的生命科学应用中,检测特定颜色以及区分相似颜色对于正确分析至关重要。

    Unstained Stained
    向样品中添加染色剂之前(左图)和之后的明视场图像(来源:奥林巴斯)
  • 敏感度
    显微镜应用通常必须在相对较低的光照强度下进行。这一点在荧光应用中最为明显,因为在荧光应用中初始光源的吸收降低了产生的“光晕”强度。 即使在明视场应用中,为最大限度地减少光毒性并避免损害被检查的样品,可能也需要限制光照强度。

  • 图像清晰度/细节层次
    虽然显微镜或其他光学器件可提供必要的放大功能,但并不能确保细节的清晰度。在需要精确定位或测量的应用中,机器视觉探测器/相机必须提供具有最小软化、莫尔条纹或其他细部损失的彩色图像。

  • 色彩增强,尤其是红色
    生命科学应用中使用的许多染料、色素和荧光团都是红色的。基于显微镜的系统要想在光谱这部分表现出色,要么是通过原生的敏感度,要么是具备突出特定颜色的功能。在一些需要NIR波段不可见信息的工业应用中,增强红色通道的敏感度也可能很有用。

    Skin Cells Bright Field
    皮肤细胞的明视场显微镜图像
  • 低噪声
    与敏感度和清晰度问题都相关。基于显微镜的系统必须设法把噪声降到最低,确保在低光照条件下捕捉到的曝光足够“干净”,以便进行有效分析。

  • 灰尘和/或异物碎片(FOD)
    虽然电子噪声可以给图像带来虚拟“灰尘”,但显微镜应用也必须关注实际灰尘。如果灰尘颗粒、线头和其他所谓的异物碎片(FOD)进入相机的光学路径,将会严重影响显微镜应用的效果。这对于明视场显微镜来说尤其如此,因为它往往会突出传感器或光学玻璃元件上的FOD。这在细胞计数和其他类似类型的应用中是一个关键因素,因为在这些应用中,灰尘/FOD将被错误地识别和计数。

  • 帧速率
    在生命科学领域中,活细胞成像之类的应用,需要“实时”或更快的帧速率才能实现延时序列,而对于晶圆检测和其他工业应用来说,具备高帧速率才能满足吞吐量的需求。此外,对于需要重叠多个图像的景深扩展(EDOF)之类的技术,更高的帧速率也大有好处。

  • 与强大的分析工具的兼容性
    尽管许多系统可能使用定制开发的分析软件,但是许多其他显微镜系统,可以利用市场上已有的专业第三方软件捕获和分析工具并从中获益。对于系统设计人员和集成商来说,重要的是要考虑系统必须具备的功能类型,以及是否可以轻松集成市场上可用的商业软件或开源软件来提供这些功能。

Chapter 3 解决彩色相机的挑战

解决彩色相机的挑战

正如上一部分所建议的那样,使用合适的相机技术是创建有效彩色显微镜成像解决方案的重要起点 — 不管是较大型的机器视觉应用,还是较简单的实验室式设备都是如此。

  • 拜耳色彩技术支持基本的系统要求
    对于颜色要求相对较低的系统,使用配备拜耳彩色滤光片的成像仪的标准单传感器相机(探测器),就可以满足您的需求。当然,我们仍然应该牢记关键挑战,寻找低噪音、高敏感度、帧速率合适,并且拥有色彩增强和/或色彩空间转换等特殊功能的相机。与领先的显微镜软件包集成也很重要。

    拜耳彩色相机近年来有了很大的改进,为系统设计人员提供了许多针对基本彩色显微镜系统的不错选择。特别是基于最先进的CMOS成像仪技术的新款相机,如索尼的Pregius™传感器线阵,可提供快速帧速率和低噪声彩色图像,能够满足众多应用的需求。

  • 适合高级应用的多传感器棱镜式相机
    如果想要打造更先进的彩色显微镜系统,以借助卓越色彩和空间性能为应用增加价值,那么就应该考虑更先进的相机技术。

    Fluorescence
    使用红色、绿色和蓝色荧光团的荧光图像

    三传感器棱镜式相机(3-CMOS或3-CCD)采用高级光学棱镜,将入射光分到三个基于光谱波长(红、绿、蓝)的独立传感器。在需要区分细微差异的应用中,与必须使用内插值来估算RGB值的拜耳相机相比,三传感器棱镜式相机提供的颜色精确度更高(见下文)。而且,三传感器棱镜式相机还能提供更高的有效敏感度。这是因为拜耳滤光矩阵实质上会阻挡落在每个像素上的波长的2/3,而棱镜式相机使用了多个传感器,几乎可以捕捉样品发出的100%的光线。棱镜式相机具备较高的整体信噪比,能够在较低的光照强度下产生更好的图像,以减少对精细样品的应力。

                     拜耳彩色方法与棱镜技术

    Bayer Prism Compare
    拜耳滤光片(左图)使得每个像素仅捕捉一个色带(R、G或B)。而该像素的RGB值中的另两种颜色,则通过使用邻近像素捕获的数据获得插值。棱镜技术(右图)将入射光线分离到三个精确对准的传感器,使每个像素均可捕获真实的RGB值,而不会因为插值而损失精确度。
Chapter 4 JAI显微镜解决方案

JAI显微镜解决方案

JAI利用其在彩色成像和棱镜技术方面的专业知识,以及与领先的显微镜软件包进行集成,为系统建造商提供多种选项,以创建具有高级色彩功能的显微镜系统。

JAI的多传感器棱镜技术可提供更高的颜色精准度、更出色的细微阴影差异区分能力、更好的低光敏度,以及比同等拜耳彩色相机更好的微小细节清晰度(阅读我们的《彩色成像技术指南》,了解关于此项内容的详细信息)。这可帮助开发人员打造能够分析显微样本(无论是生物样本还是工业样本)的系统,而传统的单色或单片彩色相机则无法做到这一点。

JAI的棱镜式彩色相机配备三个160万像素的CMOS传感器,或三个320万像素的CMOS传感器,它们安装在一个三向二向色棱镜上,将入射光线分为三个独立的色带。这为每个像素提供了精确的RGB值,且无需使用拜耳插值算法对颜色信息进行取平均值或估算操作。

JAI显微镜解决方案包含这些Apex系列棱镜式彩色相机中的八个,包括两种不同的分辨率和搭配或不搭配IR截止滤光片的型号(阅读下文的“增强红色通道敏感度部分”,了解有关“无滤光片”型号的详细信息)。这些相机提供了多种功能,可充分满足先进的显微镜应用的需求。这些功能包括:

  • 与领先的第三方软件解决方案集成
    根据您正在构建的系统类型,您可以选择从头开始开发自己的专有分析软件。但是,通过利用市场上已有的专业软件捕获和分析工具,许多系统和单独的实验室机构可以节省大量时间和精力。JAI显微镜解决方案同时支持这两种方法。兼容GenICam的标准固件集成了多种软件开发工具。此外,Apex系列相机已经与Image-Pro®和µManager充分集成,这两者均为应用最广泛的第三方显微镜软件包。

    mediacy-logo.jpg#asset:17503

    Media Cybernetics(美国马里兰州罗克维尔)的Image-Pro图像分析软件平台,能使用户和系统设计人员更容易地捕获、处理、测量、分析和共享基于显微镜的图像。自定义驱动程序让Apex系列相机能够无缝地将图像传递到Image-Pro软件,同时也允许在Image-Pro环境中控制某些摄像机功能。

    micro-manager-logo.jpg#asset:17504

    考虑到有些人更喜欢开源、非商业软件解决方案,JAI还开发了适用于μManager (Micro-Manager)软件的设备适配器。该软件最初由旧金山加利福尼亚大学的Vale实验室研发,现在由Open Imaging, Inc.负责开发和维护。开发这些适配器的目的是让Apex系列相机能够完全与µManager软件交互。该软件与四个主要制造商(Leica、Nikon、Olympus和Zeiss)的显微镜兼容,并支持用于显微镜成像的多种外围设备(载物台、滤光轮、快门等)。

  • 增强红色通道敏感度选项
    许多显微镜系统都需要超出可见光范围的光谱范围。造成这种情况的原因有很多。例如,在荧光显微镜系统中,为避免近红外光对色彩平衡造成影响,一些常用的萤光团的发射曲线图超过了大多数彩色相机所使用的典型的670-700 nm截止范围。但这大大减少了对这些“深红色”荧光团的捕捉,使得某些图像细节难以辨认。同样,工业检测系统往往需要利用近红外光的特殊特性来透视塑料或看到某些材料的表面以下,以便更好地分析缺陷。

    JAI显微镜解决方案包含已消除正常IR截止点的彩色型号,因此可增强深红色和近红外波长的敏感度。当为给定的应用配置合适的成像组件时,这些“NF”型号可提供大量额外的灵活性。

    Extended Red Spectral With Fluorophore Overlay 650Px
    具备红色荧光团曲线图的增强型敏感度光谱图
  • 颜色增强功能
    所有JAI显微镜解决方案相机(无论是否配备标准或增强的红色通道敏感度)均让用户能够强调某些特定颜色,以便更好地进行分析。用户可选择六种颜色中的一种来进行增强,包括三种原色(红色、绿色和蓝色)或三种互补色(黄色、青色和品红色)。将一种颜色增强至其正常强度的2倍,能够用于“突出”某些物品的颜色,例如在医疗应用中突出对比血液与旁组织的红色,或在典型的荧光应用中突出特定的荧光团。

  • 低噪声白平衡

    任何显微镜应用的起点,都是确保相机针对所用照明光类型进行合适的白平衡设置。典型的拜耳彩色相机只能通过向三个颜色通道的其中两个添加增益(放大)来实现白平衡,以匹配最高响应的通道。但是,增加增益不仅会使信号倍增,还会使图像中的噪声倍增,这可能会在某些低光照显微镜应用中成为关键问题。
    JAI显微镜解决方案中的棱镜式相机可以对每个传感器进行独立控制,包括快门速度和增益。这样就可以选择利用快门速度实现白平衡 - 通过延长两个低响应通道的曝光时间,或者缩短两个高响应通道的曝光时间。虽然曝光时间延长可能会略微增加噪声,但增加幅度远小于增益带来的影响。

  • 增强的抑尘功能

    所有JAI显微镜相机均经过检查并合格,可确保具备超高的图像质量和非常少的FOD(异物碎片)。然而,某些应用可能需要比标准相机更为严格的灰尘和FOD抑制技术。对于这些应用,JAI提供了几个“LSX”型号,这些型号均接受了更高级别的FOD筛选。

  • 即插即用USB3 Vision接口

    JAI显微镜解决方案在所有可用的相机型号上采用现代USB3 Vision接口。到目前为止,USB是显微镜系统的首选接口,它完美融合了即插即用的便利性和高数据带宽。320万像素型号可以在全分辨率下以每秒38帧的速率输出,可支持工业检测系统、活细胞成像、扩展景深(EDOF)等应用对于高吞吐量的需求。160万像素型号可在全分辨率下提供每秒79帧的速率。

如需了解更详细的产品信息(包括数据表和其他文档),请务必访问本网站上的“Apex显微镜解决方案”页面。

寻找符合您的应用要求的完美彩色机器视觉相机

JAI产品顾问将耐心解答您的疑问,为您提供个性化建议。

联系JAI工程师
Jai Engineer Apac3
您正在使用过期的网页

请更新您的浏览器以正确显示网站内容 马上更新我的浏览器

×

Advanced color microscopy solutions for life sciences and industrial applications

Introduction

It is often said that the world gets smaller every day. For designers of vision systems, that phrase takes on a special meaning as increasing numbers of today’s vision systems must concern themselves with microscopic details. Tasks which once might have been performed manually by a single individual with an optical microscope, are now being performed faster and with higher accuracy and repeatability than ever before by combining microscopy with digital cameras and sophisticated image capture and analysis software.  

These microscope-based machine vision systems can be found in a wide range of life sciences applications, as well as in industrial applications ranging from semiconductor inspection to materials science to failure analysis and QA.

For many of these digital microscopy systems, the capture and analysis of color information is critical to meeting the application’s goals. Thus, the system’s camera or cameras, which serve as the “eyes” of the system, must be able to provide the right levels of both spatial and color information to enable the software “brain” of the system to perform its function.

Read on to learn more about digital microscopy solutions and how various camera capabilities can be utilized to meet your application requirements.

Whitepaper Prism Technology 250X285
Chapter 1 Types of color microscopy systems

Types of color microscopy systems

Modern color microscopy-based systems fall into several categories. The most common are:

  • Systems using color dyes or stains with traditional brightfield techniques to illuminate samples and capture color images
    For some industrial systems, illumination might also include darkfield techniques, as well as near-infrared wavelengths to simultaneously analyze both visible and non-visible details.

    Topic Cluster Microscope Illustrations 1 1
    Brightfield microscopy technique
  • Color microscopy systems using color fluorescence
    This technique can be used with both organic and inorganic compounds, but is most common in life sciences where one or more fluorescent stains (fluorophores) are added to biological samples in a way that specific structures or objects of interest emit specific light wavelengths (colors) when struck by the excitation light source.

    1 Topic Cluster Microscope Illustrations 1 1
    Fluorescence microscopy technique​
Chapter 2 Color microscopy challenges

Color Microscopy Challenges

Designers of color microscopy systems face various challenges depending on the targeted application. Some of the most important issues which must be considered are:

  • Color accuracy and differentiation
    In many applications, particularly life sciences applications involving stains or dyes, detecting specific colors and distinguishing them from similar colors is critical for proper analysis.

    Unstained Stained
    Bright-field images before (left) and after adding color stains to sample (source: Olympus)
  • Sensitivity
    Microscopy applications often must work with relatively low light levels. This is most noticeable in fluorescence applications where absorption of the initial light source reduces the intensity of the resulting “glow” that is emitted.  Even in brightfield applications, light levels might need to be limited to minimize phototoxicity and avoid harming the sample being inspected.

  • Image sharpness/level of detail
    While the microscope or other optics provide the necessary magnification, this does not insure the sharpness of fine details. In applications where precise positions or measurements are required, the machine vision detector/camera must provide color images with a minimum of softening, moiré patterns, or other loss of detail.

  • Color enhancement, especially red
    Many of the dyes, stains, and fluorophores used in life sciences applications are red in color. Microscopy-based systems must perform exceptionally well in this portion of the spectrum, either through native sensitivity or the ability to add emphasis to specific colors. Extended sensitivity in the red channel may also be useful for some industrial applications where non-visible information from the NIR band is required.

    Skin Cells Bright Field
    Brightfield microscopy image of skin cells
  • Low noise
    Related to both the sensitivity and sharpness issue, microscopy-based systems must seek to minimize noise levels so that exposures captured under low light conditions remain “clean” enough for effective analysis.

  • Dust and/or foreign object debris (FODs)
    While electronic noise can add virtual “dirt” to an image, microscopy applications must also concern themselves with actual dirt. Dust particles, lint, and other so-called foreign object debris (FODs) that finds its way into the optical path of the camera can significantly hamper the efficacy of a microscope application. This is especially true for brightfield microscopy, which tends to accentuate any FODs on the sensor or the optical glass elements. It can be a key factor in cell-counting and other similar types of applications where dust/FODs are mistakenly identified and counted.

  • Frame rate
    In life sciences applications such as live cell imaging, “real-time” or faster frame rates may be required for time-lapse sequences, while for wafer inspection and other industrial applications high frame rates are required to meet throughput demands. Furthermore, techniques such as extended depth of field (EDOF), which require stacking of multiple images, can also benefit from higher frame rates.

  • Compatibility with robust analysis tools
    Though many systems may utilize custom-developed analysis software, many other microscopy-based systems may benefit from leveraging specialized third-party software capture and analysis tools already available in the market. It is important for system designers and integrators to consider the type of functionality their system must possess and whether commercial or open source software available in the market can be easily integrated to provide those capabilities.

Chapter 3 Addressing the color camera challenge

Addressing the color camera challenge

As the preceding section suggests, utilizing the proper camera technology is an important starting point for creating an effective color microscopy imaging solution – regardless of whether the imaging solution is within a larger machine vision application, or it is part of a simpler laboratory-style rig.

  • Bayer color technology supports basic system requirements
    For systems where the color requirements are relatively modest, a standard single-sensor camera (detector) featuring an imager equipped with a Bayer color filter may provide adequate results. Of course, one should still keep the key challenges in mind, and search for a camera with low noise, good sensitivity and a reasonable frame rate, as well as specialized features like color enhancement and/or color space conversion. Integration with leading microscopy software packages can also be quite important.

     
    Bayer color cameras have improved considerably in recent years, giving system designers many good options for basic color microscopy systems. In particular, new cameras based on state-of-the-art CMOS imager technology, such as that found in Sony’s PregiusTM sensor line, provide fast frame rates and deliver low-noise color images that can meet the needs of many applications.

  • Multi-sensor prism cameras for advanced applications 
    If one is looking to build a more advanced color microscopy system where superior color and spatial performance provides added value to the application, a more advanced camera technology should be considered.

    Fluorescence
    Fluorescence image using red, green, and blue fluorophores

    Three-sensor prism cameras (3-CMOS or 3-CCD) use high-grade optical prisms to split incoming light to three separate sensors based on spectral wavelengths (red, green, blue). Compared to Bayer cameras which must use interpolation to estimate RGB values, this provides higher color accuracy when subtle differentiation is required (see below). It also results in higher effective sensitivity. This is because the Bayer filter matrix essentially blocks 2/3 of the wavelengths falling on each pixel, while prism cameras use their multiple sensors to capture nearly 100% of the light emanating from the sample. With a higher overall signal-to-noise ratio, prism cameras are able to produce better images with lower light levels to reduce the stress on delicate samples.

                Bayer color methodology vs. prism technology

    Bayer Prism Compare
    Bayer filters (left) cause each pixel to only capture a single color band (R, G, or B). The other two colors in the pixel's RGB value are "interpolated" by using data captured in neighboring pixels. Prism technology (right) separates incoming light to three precisely aligned sensors so that true RGB values can be captured for each pixel with no loss of accuracy due to interpolation.
Chapter 4 The JAI Microscopy Solution

The JAI Microscopy Solution

JAI utilizes its expertise in color imaging and prism technology, as well as integration with leading microscopy software packages, to offer system builders multiple options for creating microscopy systems with advanced color capabilities.

JAI’s multi-sensor prism technology provides higher levels of color accuracy, better differentiation of subtle shading differences, better low-light sensitivity, and better sharpness of small details than comparable Bayer color cameras (read more about this in our Color Imaging Tech Guide). This enables developers to build systems capable of analyzing microscopic samples – whether biological or industrial – in ways that traditional monochrome or single-chip color cameras can’t.

JAI’s prism color cameras feature three 1.6-megapixel CMOS sensors or three 3.2-megapixel CMOS sensors mounted on a three-way dichroic prism that splits the incoming light into three separate color bands. This provides precise RGB values for each pixel without any of the averaging or estimation of color information that occurs with Bayer interpolation algorithms.

The JAI Microscopy Solution encompasses eight of these Apex Series prism color cameras, including two different resolutions and featuring models configured with or without IR-cut filters (read more about the “no filter” models in the “Extended Red Channel Sensitivity Section” below). These cameras offer a variety of capabilities tailored to the needs of advanced microscopy applications. These capabilities include:

  • Integration with leading third-party software solutions
    Depending on the type of system you are building, you may choose to develop your own proprietary analysis software from scratch. But many systems and individual laboratory setups can save time and effort by using specialized software capture and analysis tools already available in the market. The JAI Microscopy Solution supports either approach. Standard GenICam-compliant firmware integrates with a wide range of software development tools. In addition, the Apex Series cameras have been fully integrated with Image-Pro® and µManager -- two of the most widely-used third-party microscopy software packages.

    mediacy-logo.jpg#asset:17503

    The Image-Pro image analysis software platform from Media Cybernetics (Rockville, Maryland, USA) enables users and system designers to more easily capture, process, measure, analyze and share microscopy-based images. Custom drivers allow the Apex Series cameras to seamlessly pass images to the Image-Pro software while allowing certain camera functions to be controlled from within the Image-Pro environment. 

    micro-manager-logo.jpg#asset:17504

    For those who prefer an open source, non-commercial software solution, device adapters have also been developed for the μManager (Micro-Manager) software originally created by Vale Lab at the University of California, San Francisco and now being developed and maintained by Open Imaging, Inc. These adapters have been developed to allow the Apex Series cameras to fully interact with the μManager software which works with microscopes from all four major manufacturers (Leica, Nikon, Olympus and Zeiss) and supports many types of peripherals (stages, filter wheels, shutters, etc.) used in microscope imaging.

  • Extended red channel sensitivity options
    Many microscopy-based systems require a spectral range that extends beyond the visible. There can be several reasons for this. In fluorescence microscopy systems, for example, some of the common fluorophores used have emission plots that go beyond the typical 670-700 nm cut-off range used by most color cameras to avoid the effects of near-infrared light on color balancing. But that can greatly reduce the capture of these “deep-red” fluorophores, making it hard to make out certain image details. Similarly, industrial inspection systems often need to leverage the special characteristics of near-infrared light to see through plastics or see below the surface of some materials in order to better analyze for defects.

    The JAI Microscopy Solution includes color models where the normal IR-cutoff point has been eliminated, thereby allowing extended sensitivity into the deep-red and near-infrared wavelengths. These “NF” models provide a great deal of added flexibility when configuring the proper imaging components for a given application.

    Extended Red Spectral With Fluorophore Overlay 650Px
    Extended sensitivity spectral chart with red fluorophore plot
  • Color enhancement function
    All of the JAI Microscopy Solution cameras – whether equipped with standard or extended red-channel sensitivity – also give the user the ability to add emphasis to certain colors in order to facilitate better analysis. Users can choose one of six colors to enhance, including the three primary colors of red, green, and blue or the three complementary colors of yellow, cyan, and magenta. Strengthening a color by up to 2X its normal intensity can be used to make certain items “stand out”, such as the red color of blood vs. surrounding tissue in medical applications, or a particular fluorophore in a typical fluorescence application.

  • Low-noise white balancing
    The starting point for any microscopy application is to make sure that the camera is properly white-balanced for the type of lighting that is being used. Typical Bayer color cameras can only be balanced by adding gain (amplification) to two of the three color channels in order to match the channel with the highest response. However, adding gain not only multiplies the signal, it also multiplies the noise in the image which can be a critical issue in some low-light microscopy applications.

    The prism cameras in JAI’s Microscopy solution provide independent control over each sensor, including shutter speed as well as gain. This creates the option to use shutter speed for white balancing – either by lengthening the exposure time for the two channels with lower response, or shortening the exposure time for the two channels with the highest response. While noise may increase slightly if longer exposures are used, the increase is far less than when gain is applied.

  • Enhanced dust suppression
    All of JAI’s microscopy cameras are inspected and qualified to ensure high image quality with a low degree of FODs (foreign object debris). Some applications, however, may require more stringent suppression of dust and FODs than is found in the standard cameras. For these applications, JAI offers several “LSX” models that have been subject to even higher levels of FOD screening.

  • Plug-and-play USB3 Vision interface
    The JAI Microscopy Solution utilizes a modern USB3 Vision interface on all of the available camera models. USB is by far the interface of choice for microscopy-based systems providing an excellent blend of plug-and-play convenience with high data bandwidth. The 3.2-megapixel models can output 38 frames-per-second at full resolution, supporting the high throughput needed for industrial inspection systems, live cell imaging, extended depth of field (EDOF) and more. 1.6-megapixel models provide up to 79 frames-per-second at full resolution.

For more detailed product information including datasheets and other documentation, be sure to visit the Apex Microscopy Solutions page on this website.

Where to get more information

To discuss your specific project requirements or to get a price quote on products in the JAI Microscopy Solution, please use the contact link shown below. Let a JAI consultant answer your questions and provide you with personalized advice.

Contact a JAI engineer
Jai Engineer English 390Px
You are using an outdated browser!

Update your browser to display this website correctly. Update my browser now

×